Beauty in Architecture

One thing that I’ve long hated about much of the US is how stunningly UGLY it all is. So when this article popped up, it resonated with me. I’ve been an amateur aficionado of architecture for as long as I can remember, and while a (very few) aspects of the “béton brut” school do appeal to me, there is absolutely nothing about the American strip mall or the “modern” or “postmodern” architectural constructions that fill the cities of the US that inspire anything like a sense of beauty, purpose, or even raw humanity about them. Europe has their fair share of ugly cities and towns (perhaps especially just outside of Paris), and there are certainly gems to be found in the US, but in both cases these tend to be exceptions to the rule.

So, let’s talk about examples of architecture, specifically on a community-, town-, or city-wide level (e.g. not just specific buildings or individual isolated instances) that really inspire us, both from a “this is the better end of Americana” and “this might be a worthwhile direction to head” perspective.

“Not Concrete”? And probably “Not Drywall.”

I really like either massive wooden construction (which is less likely going forward - the trees for the giant beams are pretty much not a thing anymore), or stone/mortar construction. Preferably a bit rougher than perfectly smooth.

In terms of useful directions to head, though, I think the style is less important than the suitability to the local environment. You can put up a stick frame, siding, drywall based house anywhere, as long as you have gobs of energy to feed the HVAC. Without that, well, drywall molds in the south.

I’d like to see a return to houses that are appropriate for their sites, with good solar gain in the winter, good shade in the summer, etc. We don’t need full Passivhaus standards, but that general direction would be a very, very good path. I say this having nothing of the sort, though at least our windows point the right direction.