Newbie questions about stack and heap memory

So I’ve been playing with Python and Arduino’s idea of C++ for a few years now, and this year have started easing my way into pure C, mostly wanting to work with microcontrollers. It’ll probably be a while before I’m handling memory management issues, but I’ve got a couple questions from the Stack vs Heap memory section of the tutorial I’m working through. Here goes:

1. So I understand that all global variables in a C program are Heap memory? Is this true in microcontrollers as it is in a PC, even though I’ve never declared a specific pointer for those variables?
  2. Is this also true of Static variables?
  3. Heap and Stack are both in RAM right? Are they divided up in fixed sizes within that amount of RAM, or is it all available to both until memory is allocated to a given variable?
  4. Would Heap memory be the (usually) better place to store larger variables such as arrays, given that they can be resized? I guess I’m thinking mostly in the context of receiving data from a source that might be arbitrary in length, such as a message entered from a keyboard.

Ok, that’s all I can think of for now, I’m sure I’ll have more later on…

A few answers from my current understanding (beware, I am not a C god):

1. Globals are not in “heap” - they’re in what’s called BSS. BSS is usually allocated in the region of memory where HEAP is also allocated, but BSS is not HEAP per se. HEAP is what’s left over from that region to dynamically allocate later on during program execution.
  2. Static variables are allocated exactly as globals, but their resolution scope is limited.
  3. Depending on which system you are on, heap and stack may be in RAM or in Flash. Stack is almost always RAM, but some systems don’t have any RAM per se at all and have only Flash with an access accelerator of some kind. This is set up by the linker script and any special designations on the regions themselves which might affect their assignment.