Untapped potential: Far too little freight on US waterways, experts say

Seems like at least a few people have figured out that moving stuff by water still makes a ton of sense once it’s inside the borders!

Much of the rail network feels underutilized to me, but I’m no expert.

I wonder what a “heat graph” of shipping looks like - i suspect it’s mostly from the west coast heading east and there’s not a ton of rivers that do that much for it.

Thinking more about it - much of modern shipping is built around just in time - which needs predictability. If a train or ship load of things arrive too early OR too late it’s a problem, which means that there are artificial constraints on shipping that may make it non-optimal.

“Optimal” is a very loaded term. By definition, we can only truly optimize a single variable, although we can find “optimal” compromises across multiple, but these are not objective, but rather opinions, judgements – effectively subjective “optimizations”.

So, one of the things we may need to do to increase efficiency of, say, fuel, or even time, perhaps, is to sacrifice the relative balance of another component. It is easy to deal with whatever lag time there is in a given supply chain, it is less easy to deal with jitter in that lag time - in the JIT model, that is. Or perhaps we will end up returning to the original reason distributors exist - to provide an intermediate storage location for inventory to ease the jitter, at the minor increase in price. It all depends on where the relative value is perceived to be and what tradeoffs make sense. There is no absolute, no one-size-fits all, and increasingly, there will be no “business as usual”. Building resilience will become much more highly valued in the near future than it has ever been in the recent industrial past.