Roomba i7+ Clean Base Teardown

It’s been a little while since I did my Roomba i7 teardown, which must mean it’s time for another Roomba related teardown!  This week, I’m diving into the “clean base” - the big vacuum base gizmo that sucks dust out of the bin, automating a lot of the cleaning process.  Plus, this base sits far better on carpet than the normal docking station - so what’s inside?  Quite a bit!

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.sevarg.net/2019/12/22/roomba-i7-clean-base-teardown/

(Comments from Blogger)

2020-01-03 by gtaylor

Mine just died for similar reasons, but isn’t scorched. I’m hoping drying it out will fix it. If you’d like pics of the board (not fried) for reference, let me know. Too bad they don’t sell the board.

2020-01-03 by gtaylor

that completely toasted component was a 15a fuse, mine appears to have failed more gracefully.

2020-01-04 by Russell Graves

Good to know. I’ve shipped the board to someone with some time on their hands to mess with it - it’ll be interesting to see what happens. If you wanted to link a good photo or two of that corner, I’ll make sure he sees it!

2020-03-04 by Scoutmaster Jack

Thanks for the surgery. I have a clean base that is being replaced under warranty (only 2 days old). The lever that the wedge pushes on, driving the vacuum outlet into the bag broke. Not sure how. Actually wonder if I got a refurbished base because I never touched this lever.

2020-04-02 by Unknown

Mine clean base just stopped working. The board looks fine no burnt places or wet. They said it was one month out of warranty so the just sent me a plain charger. I will not buy another one of their products I paid $1,400.00 for that thing the i7 does fine it is the base. Can they be checked or repaired?

2020-09-13 by Unknown

Can you confirm that the charging prongs should be putting out about 20V

tx

mc

2020-09-18 by Unknown