The State Of FDM 3D Printing, according to me

Well I bought a thing. My endless quest to learn how all things are made everywhere continues. After a winter of reading about all the different levels of ‘additive manufacturing’ I decided I just had to see what all the fuss was about. FDM plastic printing started to look a lot more versatile than I would have figured. Actual functional, structural parts that can survive (more or less) about as well as any injection molded part. At least that’s how I understand it, but I was intrigued enough to see for myself, and start some discussion about the results here.

Enter the Ender 3

Now I find myself with an Ender 3 v2. Most of what I consider best in life is ‘some assembly required’, and this is no different. I’m a machinist. I’ve trammed milling vises into square within +/- 0.001"-per-4" travel using hardly more than a piece of cigarette paper. Assembly and tuning of a 3d printer will not best me.

Initial setup went just fine. Google-translate written directions were a bit hard to follow in places but copious online posts and videos about these machines will get you through all the tricky parts. Not to belabor the specs of this specific machine too long, but I also added about $20 in upgrade parts that internet reviews considered pretty much essential to be installed with the machine first thing. A metal drive mechanism, flat wound bed springs, and a higher temp Bowden tube should head off several problems.

First prints

So with initial setup complete, bed levelled, and Ultimaker Cura installed as the slicer program, lets see what the total defaults look like:

I’m… not often left so pleasantly surprised. Total defaults, stock settings, first attempt and printing anything and this is the result? This is awesome!